This Bud’s for Harvick in 2011

Posted: 17/08/2010 in NASCAR

Budweiser moving sponsorship to Harvick’s No.29 team in 2011

Kevin  Harvick will become NASCAR’s next “Bud Man,” starting in 2011.

Richard  Childress  Racing announced  on Tuesday that  Budweiser will serve as primary  sponsor  of Harvick’s No.29 team  for 20 points races, two non-points races  during  Daytona Speedweeks and  co-primary sponsor of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star  Race in Charlotte next year. The beer brand will remain an associate sponsor for the remaining 16 point races on the ’11 schedule.

“Budweiser  is one of the most respected sponsors in our sport,” said Harvick, who  is the  current Sprint Cup points  leader and the first of 12 drivers who has  clinched  a spot  in this  year’s championship  Chase. “They  do a lot to market  their  teams and the sport  in television broadcasts and away from the track.  I’m looking  forward to driving the No. 29 Budweiser Chevrolet, taking it to victory lane and winning championships.”

In  April, Harvick’s current primary sponsor — Shell/Pennzoil — announced it will  leave RCR at season’s end and move over to Penske Racing to sponsor Kurt Busch and his new No.22 ride, beginning next year.

Harvick  signed a multi-year contract extension with RCR in May. He has driven the  No.29 car for RCR in Cup since replacing Dale Earnhardt after Earnhardt’s fatal  crash in  the 2001  Daytona  500. Harvick  has recorded  14 career  Cup victories,  including  a win  last Sunday  at Michigan. He  also is a two-time Nationwide Series champion (2001 and ’06).

“Throughout  his career,  Kevin has shown he  can win at any level in NASCAR,” team  owner Richard  Childress said.  “Combining his  talent with  Budweiser’s NASCAR  lineage and  proven track record of innovative sponsorship activations makes  this an  exciting pairing for fans everywhere. RCR prides itself on its heritage  and authenticity,  so working with a brand like Budweiser, which has built their reputation on those same values, is a very special opportunity.”

Budweiser  currently  supports the efforts of  Kasey Kahne’s No.9 Ford team at Richard  Petty Motorsports. But Kahne is leaving RPM at the end of this season to drive one of two Red Bull Racing cars for next year. He will then move over to  Hendrick Motorsports in  2012 to take over the wheel of Mark Martin’s No.5 car.

“The  King of  Beers” also has sponsored Dale Earnhardt Jr., Wally Dallenbach, Ricky  Craven,  Ken Schrader, Bill  Elliott, Geoff Bodine, Darrell Waltrip and Terry Labonte since it entered the Cup circuit in 1983.

– Stephen (DS LLC.)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s